Skip to content

Day 2: Igniting Faith in 40 Days with Steve and Wendy Backlund

January 5, 2014

Day 2

Rom 4:17 – (as it is written, A father of many nations have I made thee) before him whom he believed, (even) God, who giveth life to the dead, and calleth the things that are not, as though they were. ASV

The authors talk about an apple tree: “An apple tree will produce apples because of what it is. When it’s young, it will have no apples; but still it must say, ‘I am an apple tree.’ When it is winter and there are no apples; it still says, ‘I am an apple tree.’ Is it lying at those times? No. It would be lying to say anything different.”

Journal
The analogy of the apple tree is genius! I planted apple trees in my yard three years ago. They have not yet borne any fruit, but I’ve never not called them apple trees because of it. This helps me to recognize myself as God’s creation more than anything else. Though I’ve not borne the fruit I know God designed me to bear, I am no less His child and His creation. I will think of this on the days that I feel like beating myself up because the fruit is just not there.

My husband Bob, and I have had these discussions many times. He gets frustrated because I am so focused on the word. He likes to listen to the different news stations and talk about how bad things are in the economy and other political gossip. I hate that. I try to make him understand that the wisdom of the Bible says, “Faith comes by hearing.” Because he chooses to listen to the voice of the world through the news stations, he is fearful. Because he chooses to speak what he hears, then he has no faith in anything changing.

I think of the multitude that God brought out of Egypt. He delivered the whole bunch of them from Egypt, with signs and wonders. Then they traveled some time into the wilderness toward the promised land. When they encountered problems, God always had an answer that resulted in deliverance and well-being.

So, when they sent the 12 spies into the promised land to map out their strategy, and 10 of the 12 came back with an “evil report”, it convinced the multitude that the promise was not attainable. The voice of the ten was louder and more convincing than the voice of the two. In fact, the multitude wanted to stone the two who spoke in faith of the promise that they could take the land.

To me, that is the place much of the Church is in. We’ve listened to the voice of the world. Those people who refused to believe Joshua and Caleb, were probably all nice people. They were someone’s dad or mom. They were sisters and brothers and friends and neighbors. They were not bad people. But they were people who died without taking the promise. Why? Because faith comes by hearing and they heard the voice of defeat before they even tried to win the victory. The 80% voice was too much for them to hear the voice of conviction and truth. God said the land was theirs. God said He would go with them. God said that the victory was theirs because He had already given it to them. But they heard the spies who said, “We saw ourselves as grasshoppers and knew that’s how the people living in the land saw us too.”

The Church has a small minority living close to the promise. We are starting to hear about people healing the sick, raising the dead and casting out demons. But most of the Church doesn’t see themselves doing any of that. Many are afraid of demons. Many are afraid of confrontation. They will most likely die without seeing the promise. I want to see the promise. I want to live in the promised land. I want to bring others there with me. So, I choose to believe I’m a child of God. I am a new creation in Christ Jesus. I am not afraid. I am walking toward the promise, by choosing to hear what God says and shutting out the clutter and noise of the world as much as possible.

Declaration
I am who the Word says I am. I have a sound mind. I have great favor with God and man. People love me. I am a happy person. I love life and enjoy every day. I walk in divine health. I have abundant provision. I am blessed and protected. I increasingly know who and what I am in Christ. I make a tremendous difference for Christ wherever I go.

I don’t see apples yet, but thank God, He reminds me of who I am even when I don’t yet see the fruit. Thank You, Jesus for making me a new creation and filling me with Your words to guide me to the fullness of the promise. Amen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

