Skip to content

2013 Will Be My Year of Grateful Meditations

January 14, 2013

Num 21:4-6

4 And they journeyed from mount Hor by the way to the Red Sea, to compass the land of Edom: and the soul of the people was much discouraged because of the way.

 

5 And the people spake against God, and against Moses, Wherefore have ye brought us up out of Egypt to die in the wilderness? for there is no bread, and there is no water; and our soul loatheth this light bread.

 

6 And Jehovah sent fiery serpents among the people, and they bit the people; and much people of Israel died. ASV

 

 

“. . . this light bread.” Manna. The bread sent from Heaven to sustain them, to nourish them, to bring them out better than they came in – became light bread to them. The New American Standard version of the Bible translates this as “miserable food.” The meaning is the bread from Heaven was lightly esteemed, of little value and unsatisfactory to the people complaining.

 

During the forty years Israel ate this “light bread” their feet did not swell and there was none feeble (sick) among them (Ps 105:37). The word translated feeble in Psalm 105 signifies weakness or failing (falling) because of weakness—lack of strength. It doesn’t mean failing here because Israel failed multiple times, so it implies a physical weakness or lack of strength.

 

Because of the manna, Israel had none sick among them. This light bread kept them free from sickness and disease. It was food that descended daily from Heaven and is a type of Christ (John 6:48-50). Jesus said, “I am the bread of life – this is the bread which comes from Heaven that you may of it and not die.”

 

It is recorded in this passage of numbers that because the people loathed the gift of God – His form of provision – serpents began to attack them and many died. They loathed  (lightly esteemed) the bread sent to keep them healthy and so their healthy bodies died in the wilderness (place of unbelief and trial) because of the serpent’s venom.

 

I note that those serpents were not foreign to the wilderness, they were a normal part of it. Serpents are native to the wilderness and desert, but prior to the souls of Israel loathing the bread from Heaven, they either were not bitten or if they were, it didn’t affect their health. This is crucial for me to understand and believe because Jesus said He is the bread that came down from Heaven. I have to understand what He intends for me to gain from His being my bread from Heaven. This journey of faith for me is also filled with potential of a serpent’s attack.

 

The cure for the serpent’s bite was for Moses to lift a bronze (signifying judgment) serpent (representing the thing cursed) on a pole (a type of the cross of Christ) and for the people to look on it. Viewing the cursed on a pole would give (or, give back) the people life.

 

Jesus said, “As Moses lifted the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of Man be lifted up, that whoever believes in Him shall have eternal life.” (John 3:14-15).

 

Why did Jesus typify Himself with a serpent on a pole? He hung on a cross as the one bearing the curse. Jesus absorbed all our sins and the curses that came upon mankind because of sin. Jesus bore all our curses so we could be as He is (1John 4:17) – the blessed and beloved of God. Jesus became a picture of a cursed creature so we could become the picture of God’s beloved child.

 

I choose to let this knowledge change the way I think.

 

It was the soul of the people that loathed the manna. It was the soul (inner person, mind, will, emotions, intellect) that longed for something else – more specifically, what they’d had while in bondage. It was the soul of the people that led them to speak evil against Moses and God. They saw themselves (inner man) as deprived and lacking. They saw not the health and vitality God had provided for them, but they saw lack of substance (meat). That impression of the soul gave entrance for the serpents to attack them. The serpents were already there, just as Satan is already here as I journey toward God’s good plan for me. However, the serpents had no power over them until they allowed their souls to become impatient and discouraged and their mouths followed their souls by talking about it. They spoke what was abundant in their hearts (inner man) (see Matt 12:34; 15:18).

 

2012 was a tough year for me. I felt like I was in the wilderness, and like Israel, I too allowed my soul to lead me to speak wrong things. I longed for things more than I remembered the good that God has provided for me. I’ve repented. I’ve turned around, I determine to look at what Jesus paid for me to have and walk toward it and never again allow my soul to lightly esteem what His life means to me. I declare 2013 is the year of grateful meditations for me. I look on the Messiah, lifted on the cross and I am healed, saved and delivered. I forgot for a while, Jesus, but now I do this in remembrance of You. Amen.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. darran permalink
    January 20, 2013 6:45 am

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

